Memorandum



DATE June 3, 2025

Honorable Members of the Public Safety Committee

To Cara Mendelsohn (Chair), Kathy Stewart (Vice Chair), Tennell Atkins, Jesse Moreno Gay Donnell Willis

SUBJECT Dallas Police Investigative Facial Recognition Technology Report

The Dallas Police Department began using Investigative Facial Recognition Technology in October of 2024. In six months, there have been 98 requests for use. Four requests were denied because the request was made for a non-permitted offense or lacked supervisor approval. Of the 94 requests that have been fulfilled, 34 leads have generated.

Should you have questions or require additional information, please contact Major Brian Lamberson at (214) 671-3059.

Service First, Now!

Dominique Artis
Chief of Public Safety

C:

Kimberly Bizor Tolbert, City Manager
Tammy Palomino, City Attorney
Mark Swann, City Auditor
Bilierae Johnson, City Secretary
Preston Robinson, Administrative Judge
Dev Rastogi, Assistant City Manager
M. Elizabeth (Liz) Cedillo-Pereira, Assistant City Manager

Alina Ciocan, Assistant City Manager Donzell Gipson, Assistant City Manager Robin Bentley, Assistant City Manager Jack Ireland, Chief Financial Officer Elizabeth Saab, Chief of Strategy, Engagement, and Alignment (I) Directors and Assistant Directors