## Memorandum



DATE June 23, 2022

TO Honorable Mayor and Members of the City Council

## SUBJECT Status of City Migration to the .gov Domain

Starting in April 2022, ITS began migrating the City from the .com to the .gov domain for its email addresses and online presence. This change increases the security and searchability of our online presence and is consistent with City of Dallas internet policies.

ITS is taking a phased approach of migrating city employees by Deputy and Assistant City Manager department groups each week from the .com to the .gov domain. As of June 21, 2022, 4800 users have been migrated to their new .gov addresses. The initial phases of the rollout allowed ITS to easily identify any potential issues and streamline the overall process. In addition, the ITS project team has remained in place to address any user issues, with most issues addressed within the documentation already provided.

ITS continues to move departments, with DWU and PKR targeted for the week of 6/23, adding 2200 more users. The largest departments remaining, DPD and DFD, will be migrated thereafter, and their new email address convention will be "first name.last name@dallaspolice.gov & first name.last name@dallasfire.gov"., respectively.

Once all individual users have been successfully migrated, email distribution lists will be cleaned up to show the new .gov domain.

All of the dallascityhall.com email addresses will remain active 12 months after the migration, and emails sent to those addresses will be forwarded to the new dallas.gov email address without any action required by the user. Finally, the City of Dallas's website will also be changing in 2022 from DallasCityHall.com to Dallas.gov.

Thank you for your support. If you have any questions, please contact Dr. Brian Gardner, Chief Information Security Officer.

William Zielinski (Jun 23, 2022 06:37 C

William Zielinski

Chief Information Officer

Chris Caso, City Attorney
Mark Swann, City Auditor
Bilierae Johnson, City Secretary
Preston Robinson, Administrative Judge
Kimberly Bizor Tolbert, Deputy City Manager
Jon Fortune, Deputy City Manager

Majed A. Al-Ghafry, Assistant City Manager
M. Elizabeth (Liz) Cedillo-Pereira, Assistant City Manager
Robert Perez, Assistant City Manager
Carl Simpson, Assistant City Manager
M. Elizabeth Reich, Chief Financial Officer
Genesis D. Gavino, Chief of Staff to the City Manager
Directors and Assistant Directors