## Memorandum



DATE December 9, 2022

Honorable Members of the Public Safety Committee
Adam McGough (Chair), Cara Mendelsohn (Vice Chair), Tennell Atkins, Jesse Moreno, Jaime Resendez, Casey Thomas, Gay Donnell Willis

## **SUBJECT School Safety Initiatives Overview**

During the Public Safety Committee on September 12, 2022, Committee members requested to connect with representatives from the Independent School Districts (ISDs), including Dallas ISD, Richardson ISD, and Plano ISD, to provide an overview of school safety initiatives within their district to ensure the safety of students.

Thank you, to Dallas ISD, Richardson ISD, and Plano ISD for accepting the invitation to participate in presenting to the Committee about their detailed security measures in their district. Attached you will find the Dallas ISD Safety Initiatives presentation and staff will provide any additional presentation materials as they become available.

Should you have any questions or concerns, please contact me at (214) 670-5299.

Jon Fortune Deputy City Manager [Attachment]

C:

T.C. Broadnax, City Manager Chris Caso, City Attorney Mark Swann, City Auditor Bilierae Johnson, City Secretary Preston Robinson, Administrative Judge Kimberly Bizor Tolbert, Deputy City Manager Jon, Fortune, Deputy City Manager Majed A. Al-Ghafry, Assistant City Manager M. Elizabeth (Liz) Cedillo-Pereira, Assistant City Manager Dr. Robert Perez, Assistant City Manager Carl Simpson, Assistant City Manager Jack Ireland, Chief Financial Officer Genesis D. Gavino, Chief of Staff to the City Manager Directors and Assistant Directors