Transportation and Infrastructure Committee Meeting Record

The Transportation and Infrastructure Committee meetings are recorded. Agenda materials are available online at <u>www.dallascityhall.com</u>. Recordings may be reviewed/copied by contacting the Transportation and Infrastructure Committee Coordinator at 214-671-9465.

Meeting Date: February 18, 2020

Convened: 1:02 p.m.

Adjourned: 2:59 p.m.

Committee Members Present:

Lee Kleinman, Chair Adam Medrano, Vice Chair Tennell Atkins Adam Bazaldua David Blewett Adam McGough Chad West Committee Members Absent: N/A

Other Council Members Present: N/A

Presenters:

Majed Al-Ghafry, Assistant City Manager, City Manager's Office Michael Rogers, Director, Department of Transportation Towfiq Khan, Executive Manager, Department of Transportation Robert Perez, Director, Department of Public Works Ali Hatefi, Assistant Director, Department of Public Works

AGENDA

Call to Order (1:02 p.m.)

Special Recognitions

A. Approval of the January 21, 2020 Transportation and Infrastructure Committee Meeting Minutes Presenter(s): Lee Kleinman, Chair Action Taken/Committee Recommendation(a): A mation was made to approve the minutes from the

Action Taken/Committee Recommendation(s): A motion was made to approve the minutes from the January 21, 2020 Transportation and Infrastructure Committee meeting.

Motion made by: Adam Medrano Item passed unanimously: X Item failed unanimously: Motion seconded by: Tennell Atkins Item passed on a divided vote: Item failed on a divided vote:

- B. Transportation and Infrastructure Committee Forecast Presenter(s): Lee Kleinman, Chair Action Taken/Committee Recommendation(s): Information only.
- C. Interagency Transportation Report February 2020 Presenter(s): Molly Carroll, Executive for Interagency Relations, Department of Transportation Action Taken/Committee Recommendation(s): Information only.
- D. Update on Dockless Mobility Program

Presenter(s): Michael Rogers, Director, Department of Transportation, and Towfiq Khan, Executive Manager, Department of Transportation

Action Taken/Committee Recommendation(s): Department of Transportation staff provided an overview of the proposed revisions to the Dockless Mobility Program, as well as an update on discussions with the dockless

vehicle operators and public improvement districts. Representatives from the Deep Ellum Foundation and Downtown Dallas, Inc. attended the meeting and provided their input on the proposed changes. Committee Members discussed the importance of public safety regarding the dockless vehicles, particularly in City Council Districts 2 and 14. Several Council Members expressed concern about the hours of operation, enforcement, sidewalk riding, and data collection. Staff committed to additional conversations with dockless vehicle vendors, and to providing updated information via memorandum prior to City Council action. Information only.

E. Right-of-Way and Lane Closure Permit Fees

Presenter(s): Robert Perez, Director, Department of Public Works, and Ali Hatefi, Assistant Director, Department of Public Works

Action Taken/Committee Recommendation(s): Department of Public Works staff provided an overview of the current fees for right-of-way (ROW) use and street lane closures, as well as recommended increases to those fees to encourage innovative and efficient use of City ROW and street lanes for construction projects. The Committee Members were supportive of staff's recommendations but encouraged the consideration of additional increases to the fees. Information only.

F. Connect Dallas Strategic Mobility Plan

Presenter(s): Michael Rogers, Director, Department of Transportation

Action Taken/Committee Recommendation(s): Department of Transportation staff provided an overview of the planning efforts for Connect Dallas, the City's five-year strategic mobility plan. Council Member West asked about streetscaping requirements for Complete Streets, the various transportation investment scenarios, and alignment with a City-wide transit-oriented development initiative. Information only.

Adjourn (2:59 p.m.)

APPROVED BY:

ATTESTED BY:

Lee Kleinman, Chair Transportation & Infrastructure Committee Kate Bower, Coordinator Transportation & Infrastructure Committee