## Memorandum

DATE August 6, 2020

<sup>TO</sup> Honorable Mayor and Members of the City Council

## **SUBJECT Temporary Fire Stations 19 and 41**



Fire Station 19 sustained major structural damage due to a severe storm in June 2019 causing the station to be demolished. A replacement Fire Station 19 will be rebuilt on the original site for Station 19. Currently, Station 19 equipment and personnel are currently operating out of the Dodd J. Miller Fire Academy, located at 5000 Dolphin Road providing emergency services. They will be operating from this location until the permanent fire station is built, which is currently projected for the fiscal year 2022.

Fire Station 41 was destroyed by a tornado in October 2019 causing the station to be razed. A replacement Fire Station 41 will be rebuilt on the original site of Station 41. The temporary station will be located at 5807 Royal Ln, Dallas Texas 75230. Station 41 will be operating from this location until the permanent fire station is built, which is currently projected for the fiscal year 2022. These are short-term solutions to provide fire department services for these locations. Dallas Fire-Rescue will continue to monitor operations of all personnel and apparatus to make sure response delays are minimized and will adjust assigned locations as necessary. We are committed to delivering the highest service possible to the citizens of Dallas.

The agenda items for the approval to establish appropriations for design services for Station 19 and 41 is scheduled to be presented to the City Council on August 26, 2020.

Jon Fortune Assistant City Manager

c:

Chris Caso, City Attorney (Interim) Mark Swann, City Auditor Bilierae Johnson, City Secretary Preston Robinson, Administrative Judge Kimberly Bizor Tolbert, Chief of Staff to the City Manager Jon Fortune, Assistant City Manager Joey Zapata, Assistant City Manager Nadia Chandler Hardy, Assistant City Manager M. Elizabeth Reich, Chief Financial Officer Laila Alequresh, Chief Innovation Officer M. Elizabeth (Liz) Cedillo-Pereira, Chief of Equity and Inclusion Directors and Assistant Directors