Memorandum



DATE September 4, 2020

^{TO} Honorable Members of the Environment and Sustainability Committee

SUBJECT Environment and Sustainability Task Force Update

BACKGROUND

City Council Resolution #20-688, which adopted the Comprehensive Environmental and Climate Action Plan (CECAP), includes a requirement that "the City Manager identify and convene an Environment and Sustainability Advisory Committee, under guidelines established by the City Manager, comprised of professionals and community members to advise on environment, sustainability, and CECAP implementation." The 15-member committee has been selected to represent each of the CECAP's eight sectors plus environmental advocacy, justice, and public health, with the final committee reflecting a diverse range of backgrounds, experience, and expertise.

MEMBERS

This list reflects a wide range of knowledge and expertise. Careful consideration has been given to ensure a membership that is reflective of the diverse population of Dallas. Individuals on the original list of candidates, will be engaged as subject matter experts as needed.

Name	Organization
Sandy Greyson (Chair)	Former Council Member, Former Quality of Life Chair
Alan Hoffman	Hoffmann Homes
Aaryaman Singhal	Sunrise Movement
Dr. Maria Boccalandro	Dallas College (formerly DCCCD)
Erryn Hopson	UT Southwestern, Public Health and Food Security
Janette Monear	Texas Trees Foundation
Michael Martin	North Texas Renewable Energy Group/ MM Solar Advisory
Pamela Rogers	Children's Health
Phil Crone	Dallas Builders Association
Ples Montgomery IV	Oak Cliff Veggie Project
Raphaella Silva	Apartment Association of Greater Dallas
Rita Beving	Public Citizen
Drew Campbell	Dallas Regional Mobility Coalition
Tony Robinson	Axis Design-Build; sustainable construction
Tracy Wallace	Green Careers

ETHICS

Each Task Force member will be subject to, and must comply with, Chapter 12A, "Code of Ethics," of the Dallas City Code. Task Force members must comply with Chapter 12A as if they are city officials. They will (1) be furnished with a copy of the Code of Ethics as required by Section 12A-42; (2) be required to sign the ethics pledge in Section 12A-42.1; and (3) receive ethics training as required by Section 12A-45.

DATE September 4, 2020 SUBJECT Environment and Sustainability Task Force Update

EQUITY

Climate change will affect everyone, but not everyone will be affected equally—the effects of climate change will disproportionately impact communities with the least means to adapt, and who have been burdened with negative environmental impacts due to institutionalized discriminatory practices. Equity training will be an ongoing requirement of all Environment and Sustainability Task Force members.

NEXT STEPS

After the 15-member committee is finalized, the Vice Chair will be nominated by the Task Force Chair and voted on by the entire ENVS Committee. The first meeting of the Task Force will be in September, at which onboarding will occur. Onboarding will include required viewing of a video on ethics requirements, as well as all associated paperwork and conflict of interest disclosure statements. Task Force members will be briefed on the CECAP, including its development and implementation framework. Ongoing education and training will occur through the members' terms as needed.

Should you require additional information, please contact me or Sheila Delgado, Interim Director Office of Environmental Quality and Sustainability, at <u>Sheila.Delgado@dallascityhall.com</u>.

praise

Joey Zapata Assistant City Manager

c:

Chris Caso, City Attorney Mark Swann, City Auditor Bilierae Johnson, City Secretary Preston Robinson, Administrative Judge Kimberly Bizor Tolbert, Chief of Staff to the City Manager Majed A. Al-Ghafry, Assistant City Manager Jon Fortune, Assistant City Manager Nadia Chandler Hardy, Assistant City Manager and Chief Resilience Officer Dr. Eric A. Johnson, Chief of Economic Development and Neighborhood Services M. Elizabeth Reich, Chief Financial Officer Laila Alequresh, Chief Innovation Officer M. Elizabeth (Liz) Cedillo-Pereira, Chief of Equity and Inclusion Directors and Assistant Directors