Memorandum

DATE October 9, 2020

^{TO} Honorable Members of the Public Safety Committee

SUBJECT Municipal Traffic Safety Initiatives Award (MTSI)

It gives me great pleasure to inform you that the City of Dallas has been chosen as this year's new applicant winner to the 2020 Municipal Traffic Safety Initiatives (MTSI) award. This award, which is provided by the Texas Municipal Courts Education Center, recognizes municipalities who have made a significant contribution to increase traffic safety to prevent impaired driving in their community.

Through their creative efforts and dedicated focus, the City of Dallas municipal judges developed and implemented several traffic safety engagement and educational programs last year. It is a prestigious honor to receive this award as a new applicant, and I ask that you join me in congratulating them for their demonstrated excellence for seeking to improve traffic safety and reduce impaired driving in the City of Dallas.

C:

Jon Fortune Assistant City Manager

T.C. Broadnax, City Manager Chris Caso, City Attorney Mark Swann, City Auditor Bilierae Johnson, City Secretary Preston Robinson, Administrative Judge Kimberly Bizor Tolbert, Chief of Staff to the City Manager

Majed A. Al-Ghafry, Assistant City Manager Joey Zapata, Assistant City Manager Nadia Chandler Hardy, Assistant City Manager Dr. Eric A. Johnson, Chief of Economic Development and Neighborhood Services M. Elizabeth Reich, Chief Financial Officer M. Elizabeth (Liz) Cedillo-Pereira, Chief of Equity and Inclusion Directors and Assistant Directors

