

City of Dallas

1500 Marilla Street Council Chambers, 6th Floor Dallas, Texas 75201

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 20-1975 Version: 1 Name:

Type: CONSENT AGENDA Status: Approved

File created: 10/1/2020 In control: Department of Convention and Event Services

On agenda: 11/11/2020 Final action: 11/11/2020

Title: Authorize changes to the Board of Directors of the Dallas Convention Center Hotel Development

Corporation - Financing: No cost consideration to the City

Sponsors:

Indexes: 2

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. Resolution

Date Ver. Action By Action Result

STRATEGIC PRIORITY: Government Performance and Financial Management

AGENDA DATE: November 11, 2020

COUNCIL DISTRICT(S): 2

DEPARTMENT: Department of Convention and Event Services

EXECUTIVE: Joey Zapata

SUBJECT

Authorize changes to the Board of Directors of the Dallas Convention Center Hotel Development Corporation - Financing: No cost consideration to the City

BACKGROUND

The Articles of Incorporation for the Dallas Convention Center Hotel Development Corporation (DCCHDC) state that the DCCHDC should consist of three board members, who are employed by, and reside in, the city of Dallas. Each board member serves for a period of two years, may be reappointed, and can serve for six consecutive years. This action reappoints Kimberly Bizor Tolbert as President, appoints Daisy Torres Fast as Vice President, and reappoints John P. Johnson, Jr. as Treasurer and Secretary, all for a period of two years.

Daisy Torres Fast will serve as the replacement for Shelia D. Robinson who has completed the allowable term.

PRIOR ACTION/REVIEW (COUNCIL, BOARDS, COMMISSIONS)

File #: 20-1975, Version: 1

On February 10, 2010, City Council authorized the replacement of Shelia D. Robinson with Jo M. (Jody) Puckett to serve as a Board Member of the Dallas Convention Center Hotel Development Corporation by Resolution No. 10-0454.

On April 14, 2010, City Council authorized the replacement of Frank Poe with Al (Alberto) Rojas to serve as Secretary of the Dallas Convention Center Hotel Development Corporation by Resolution No. 10-0918.

On October 10, 2011, City Council authorized the replacement of Ryan Evans with Forest Turner to serve as President and replaced Jo M. (Jody) Puckett with Shelia D. Robinson to serve as Board Member of the Dallas Convention Center Hotel Development Corporation by Resolution No. 11-2719.

On August 28, 2013, City Council authorized the replacement of Forest Turner with Jose (Joey) Zapata to serve as President of the Dallas Convention Center Hotel Development Corporation by Resolution No. 13-1422.

On January 13, 2016, City Council authorized the replacement of Al (Alberto) Rojas with Juanita Ortiz to serve on the Dallas Convention Center Hotel Development Corporation by Resolution No. 16-0077.

On May 10, 2017, City Council authorized the replacement of Jose (Joey) Zapata with Raquel Favela, the replacement of Juanita Ortiz with John P. Johnson, Jr., and the reappointment of Shelia D. Robinson to serve on the Dallas Convention Center Hotel Development Corporation by Resolution No. 17-0745.

On September 12, 2018, City Council authorized the replacement of Raquel Favela with Kimberly Bizor Tolbert to serve as President of the Dallas Convention Center Hotel Development Corporation and reappointed John P. Johnson, Jr. to serve as Treasurer and Secretary, and reappointed Shelia D. Robinson to serve as Vice President by Resolution No. 18-1302.

FISCAL INFORMATION

No cost consideration to the City.